Working Moms And The Village Beside Her.

Working Moms And The Village Beside Her.

tav

 

Like most working moms I know I have had that guilty feeling of not being there enough. I am always being told what a great mother I am just of what I post on social media but the reality is that I don’t do it alone. I was listening to a podcast this week (Coffee + Crumbs: Motherhood + Work) about working mothers and the guilt behind it. Jessica Honegger talked about an exchange with a mother who was basically the “classroom mom.” That mom who is always volunteering, the one dropping off AND picking up her kids every day, the captain of the moms. Comparing herself to her and feeling less which I know we can all relate to. That mother told Jessica what a great job she was doing building her business and how she didn’t know how she did it all. That’s when Jessica told her, “BECAUSE OF YOU”. Because this mom was taking the time to involve herself in the school while she was at work doing what she had to do she was able to do it. The message behind this is how mothers can come along side each other and help each other out. Because I have Dylan’s dad, aunties, grandma, grandpa, teachers, etc. I am able to do what I have to do to build for our future. I am able to go to school and work part-time while knowing that my son is being cared for by great role models and they are creating their own special bond with him. Teaching him that there are other people who love him just as much and care to be there for him.

“As moms, we are in it together- raising the future. We are a tribe of future makers. So let’s support each other.” – Marissa Hermer

Being a working mother doesn’t make you any less of a mother. Motherhood is not the same for everyone. We all have different lifestyles that work for each and every one of us. I know that I was and still am struggling to get my son to bed at a decent time because i’m not off of work until past 9/10 pm. But one thing I do get to do is spend a couple minutes each day reading a book or talking about our days and getting to spend some quality time and just be in the moment. The idea that working moms spend less time or have a weaker bond with their children is wrong. It can be difficult to try and do these spontaneous trips or play dates at the library but spending quality time with your kids does not have to be about that. It can be you two spending an extra 10 minutes during bath time bonding, waking up a bit earlier to watch cartoons before the day starts, or just taking the long route to school and admiring the scenery. We should not compare each other but rather uplift each other and always be kind. I know not everyone is able to relate, but if you can, just know that you are doing the best you can and you should be proud. You’ve got this.

“She never quite leaves her children at home, even when she doesn’t take them along.” – Margaret Culkin Banning.

 

6 thoughts on “Working Moms And The Village Beside Her.

  1. This was so beautiful. I constantly struggle being a working mom. I’m constantly beating myself up. Not only because I work a 9-5, but then I come home and work on my side business. But I’m hopeful that the time i put into my side business will give me the growth to make that my main source of income πŸ™ŒπŸ½ So that I can become a work from home mom do that i can do more with my son. Us moms definitely need to stick together πŸ™ŒπŸ½

    Like

  2. Amazing post hun. In my opinion a working mom is more of a great mom!!! Why? Because we sacrifice many things to be able to provide four our family/children. Not to mention, we are striving to be better and to give them a great example.

    Like

  3. Amazing post mama. Being a working mama means you’re more than an awesome mom because you do many sacrifices to provide for your family/children. Not to mention, as women we strive for better to give our children a better life and a good example.

    Like

Leave a comment